State Contacts

It is at the state level that the growth and institutional success of Safe Routes to School programs is occurring.

As the gatekeepers for federal funds related to the federal Safe Routes to School program and now the Transportation Alternatives Program, the state Departments of Transportation (DOTs) are responsible for disbursing funds to local programs in accordance with state policies and applicable federal laws and guidance. Most states have a coordinator responsible for administering the Safe Routes to School program, or have shifted to having a coordinator of the Transportation Alternatives Program.

Find out about your state’s progress here.

State Contacts

 

Alabama

Bob Kratzer
Alabama DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(334) 353-6442
kratzer@dot.state.al.us
Website

 

Alaska

Marcheta Moulton
Alaska Safe Routes to School Outreach Team Coordinator
(907) 465-8769
marcheta.moulton@alaska.gov
Visit Website

 

Arizona

Eric Boyles
Arizona LPA Program Supervisor
(602) 712-8010
eboyles@azdot.gov
Visit website

 

Arkansas

Kim Sanders
Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department SRTS Coordinator
(501) 569-2020
kim.sanders@arkansashighways.com
Visit Website

 

California

Kevin Atkinson
Caltrans Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(916) 653-6920
kevin.atkinson@dot.ca.gov
Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in California.

 

Colorado

Leslie Feuerborn
Colorado DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(303) 757-9088
leslie.feuerborn@state.co.us
Visit Website

 

Connecticut

Patrick Zapatka
Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(860) 594-2153
patrick.zapatka@ct.gov
Visit Website

 

Delaware

Sarah Coakley, AICP
Delaware DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(302) 760-2236
Sarah.Coakley@state.de.us
Visit Website

 

District of Columbia

Derrick Hardy
(202) 671-2278
derrick.hardy@dc.gov
Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in the Greater Washington region.

Florida

Sarita Taylor
Florida DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(850) 245-1529
sarita.taylor@dot.state.fl.us
Visit Website

 

Georgia

Katelyn Digioia
Georgia DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(404) 635-2834
KDigioia@dot.ga.gov
Visit website

 

Hawaii

Tara Y.I. Lucas
Hawaii DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(808) 692-7696
saferoutestoschool@hawaii.gov

 

Idaho

Kelly DiRocco
IDT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(208) 334-8822
GATeam@itd.idaho.gov
Visit website

 

Illinois

Paul Lorton
SRTS Coordinator
(217) 524-9108
Paul.Lorton@Illinois.gov
Visit website

 

Indiana

Michael Cales
Indiana DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(317) 232-5653
mcales@indot.in.gov
http://saferoutes.in.gov

 

Iowa

Debra Arp
Iowa DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(515) 239-1713
debra.arp@dot.iowa.gov
www.iowadot.gov/saferoutes

 

Kansas

Matt Messina
State Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(785) 296-7448
mmessina@ksdot.org
Visit website

 

Kentucky

Jackie Jones
Kentucky Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(502) 782-4734
jackie.jones@ky.gov
Visit website

 

Louisiana

Shalanda Cole
Louisiana DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(504) 234-6261
shalanda.cole@la.gov
Visit Website

 

Maine

Patrick Adams
Bicycle and Pedestrian Program Manager
(207) 624-3311
Patrick.Adams@maine.gov

Alternate contact: saferoutes@maine.gov
Visit Website

 

Maryland

Christy D. Bernal
Assistant Transportation Alternatives Program Coordinator

(410) 545-5659
CBernal@sha.state.md.us
Visit website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in the Greater Washington region.

 

Massachusetts

Nicole Tishler
Massachusetts SRTS Coordinator
888-4COMMUTE
nicole.tishler@state.ma.us
Visit website 

 

Michigan

Meg Thomas Ackerman
Director
(517) 908-3814
MTAckerman@michiganfitness.org
Visit Website

 

Minnesota

Dave Cowan
Minnesota DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
651-366-4180 
Dave.Cowan@state.mn.us
Visit Website

 

Mississippi

Cookie Leffler
Mississippi DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(601) 359-1454
cookieleffler@mdot.ms.gov
Visit Website

 

Missouri

Jeff Cremer
Missouri DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
573-526-2440
Jeffrey.Cremer@modot.mo.gov
Visit Website

 

Montana

Michelle Erb
Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator
(406) 444-9273
merb@mt.gov
Visit Website

 

Nebraska

Jeffrey Soula
Urban and Transportation Alternatives Engineer
(402) 479-3562
jeffrey.soula@nebraska.gov
Visit Website

 

Nevada

Tim Rowe
Nevada DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(775) 888-7357
 
 
New Hampshire

John Corrigan
New Hampshire DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(603) 271-1980
jcorrigan@dot.state.nh.us
Visit Website

 

New Jersey

Elise Bremer-Nei
New Jersey DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(609) 530-2765
elise.bremer-nei@dot.state.nj.us 
Visit Website

Leigh Ann Von Hagen
New Jersey Safe Routes to School Resource Center Manager
(848) 932-2854
lavh@ejb.rutgers.edu 
Visit Website

 

New Mexico

Dan Watts
New Mexico DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(505) 470-8545
Danial.Watts@state.nm.us
Visit Website

 

New York

Lisa Ford
Transportation Alternatives Coordinator
(518) 457-9749
Lisa.Ford@dot.ny.gov
Visit Website

 

North Carolina

Ed Johnson, ASLA, RLA
North Carolina DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(919) 707-2604
erjohnson2@ncdot.gov
Visit Website

 

North Dakota

Pam Wenger
North Dakota DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(701) 328-4787
pwenger@nd.gov
Visit website

 

Ohio

Julie Walcoff
Ohio DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(614) 466-3049
Julie.Walcoff@dot.state.oh.us
Visit Website

 
Oklahoma

Matt VanAuken
Oklahoma DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(405) 522-0990
mvanauken@odot.org
Visit Website

 

Oregon

Julie Yip
Oregon DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(503) 986-4196
Julie.A.Yip@odot.state.or.us
Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in the Pacific Northwest.

 

Pennsylvania

Chris Metka
Transportation Enhancements/Alternatives/Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(717) 787-8065
cmetka@pa.gov
Visit Website

 

Rhode Island

Chris Witt
Rhode Island Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(401) 222-5759
chris.witt@doa.ri.gov
Visit Website

 

South Carolina

Rodney Oldham, CHES, CPT
South Carolina DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(803) 737-4073
scsaferoutes@scdot.org
Visit Website

 

South Dakota

Marilyn Patterson
South Dakota DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(605) 773-6642
Marilyn.Patterson@state.sd.us
Visit Website

 

Tennessee

Diana Benedict
Tennessee DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(615) 253-2421
Diana.Benedict@tn.gov
Visit Website

 

Texas

Teri Kaplan
Texas TAP Coordinator
(512) 416-3137 
Teri.Kaplan@txdot.gov
Visit Website

 

Utah

Cherissa Wood
Utah DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(801) 965-4486
cwood@utah.gov
Visit Website

 

Vermont

Jon Kaplan
Vermont DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(802) 828-5799
jon.kaplan@state.vt.us
Visit Website

 

Virginia

Robert J. Williams
Virginia DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(804) 371-4868
robertj.williams@vdot.virginia.gov
Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in Northern Virginia through the Greater Washington region.

 

Washington

Charlotte Claybrook
Washington DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(360) 705-7302
ClaybrC@wsdot.wa.gov
Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in the Pacific Northwest.

 

West Virginia

Ryan C. Burns
West Virginia DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(304) 558-9297
Ryan.C.Burns@wv.gov
Visit Website

Rebecca A. Davison 
West Virginia Division of Highways 
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E Bldg 5, Room 863 
Charleston, WV 25305 
rdavison@dot.state.wv.us

 

Wisconsin

Tressie Kamp
Wisconsin DOT Multi-Modal Program Manager
(608) 266-3973
tressie.kamp@dot.wi.gov
Visit Website
 

Wyoming

Sara Janes
Wyoming DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(307) 777-3938
sara.janes@dot.state.wy.us
Visit Website